

English River Watershed Management Authority Meeting Minutes

November 15th, 2018, 6:30 PM English Valleys History Center 108 N Main St, North English

Call to Order

The meeting was called to order by the Vice Chair, Abe Miller, at 6:34 PM.

Introductions

The following were in attendance:

Board Members: Abe Miller, Vice Chair (Alternate) – Washington County, Jan Anderson, At Large – City of Grinnell, Mike Phillips, At Large – Poweshiek SWCD, Mark Kennett, At Large – Poweshiek SWCD, Mick Berg – Keokuk County, Kasey Hutchinson – Johnson County, Allan Schneider – City of Riverside, Larry Wilson – Poweshiek County,

Jody Bailey (Project Coordinator), Colleen Kinney (Iowa Homeland Security & Emergency Management, Mary Beth Stevenson (Iowa DNR Watershed Improvement), John Clayton (Poweshiek SWCD), Gary Netser, Rita McDonald, Margaret Ruddy, Dave Jackson, Kristina TeBockhorst (ISU Extension & Outreach), Jamie Benning (ISU Extension & Outreach), Hillary Pierce (ISU Extension & Outreach), Rob Davis (Houston Engineering Inc.), Mario Fenu (Houston Engineering, Inc.), Dr. Allen Bradley (Iowa Flood Center), Julie Kearney (University of Iowa Center for Evaluation & Assessment), Kate Giannini (Iowa Flood Center), Craig Just (University of Iowa Flood Resilience Team), Maria Urice (Tallgrass Prairie Center), Ben Curtis (ERWMA Planner).

Additions to/Approval of Agenda

M/S by Anderson/Kennett to approve the agenda. Motion passed.

Approval of Meeting Minutes (Discussion/Action)

o August 16th, 2018

M/S by Phillips/Anderson to approve August 16, 2018 meeting minutes. Motion passed.

• National Disaster Resiliency – Iowa Watershed Approach Project Partner Updates

o IWA Cost Share Updates – Jody Bailey, Project Coordinator

Bailey updated the board that as of 11/2/18, there were 32 applicants for cost share, of whom 19 applicants have had estimates prepared for them totaling \$1.6 million in presurvey construction estimates

 Poweshiek & Iowa County Technical Assistance Applications Review and Approval – Jody Bailey, Project Coordinator (Discussion/<u>Action</u>)

Bailey asked the Board of Directors to review recent applications for technical assistance and asked for the Board to consider formal approval of the applications (dependent on availability of funding).

M/S by Phillips/Kennett to approve current applications for technical assistance: Motion passed.

APPLICANT	APP	ERW BOARD	PROJECT CO.	BMPS
	SUBMITTED	APPROVAL		
17-THOMPSON, D	5/25/2018	11/15/18	Poweshiek	Terrace(s)
19-SCHMIDT, S	6/9/2018	11/15/18	Poweshiek	WASCOB
21-GORSCH FARMS, D	7/25/2018	11/15/18	Iowa	WASCOB, Waterway(s)
22-OROURKE, J	7/25/2018	11/15/18	lowa	WASCOB, Terracing, waterway(s)
23-FISHER, A	7/25/2018	11/15/18	Iowa	Sediment detention basin, terracing, waterway(s)
26-SCHAFBUCH, S	7/23/2018	11/15/18	Iowa	Terraces, waterways, pond
28-KRUSE, J	8/20/2018	11/15/18	Iowa	Pond, grassed waterway, terrace
29-O'ROURKE REVOCABLE TRUST	8/23/2018	11/15/18	lowa	Pond, WASCOB, Terrace
30-O'ROURKE, D	8/23/2018	11/15/18	lowa	Pond, WASCOB, Terrace
31-GENT, J	9/17/2018	11/15/18	lowa	Pond, WASCOB, Buffer strips, terrace(s)
32-NAGLE, B	10/20/2018	11/15/18	Poweshiek	WASCOB, Terrace, Waterway(s)
33-HERTEL, D	11/1/2018	11/15/18	Iowa	WASCOB, Terrace, Waterway(s)
34-GRIMM, P	11/1/2018	11/15/18	Iowa	WASCOB, Terrace, Waterway(s)
35-BENDER, E	11/1/2018	11/15/18	Iowa	WASCOB, Terrace, Waterway(s)

 Updates were provided by the following National Disaster Resiliency -lowa watershed Approach project partners

- English River Subwatershed Plans Ben Curtis, Planner
- Hydrologic Modeling Dr. Allen Bradley, University of Iowa IIHR Hydroscience & Engineering
- IWA Flood Resilience Program Update Craig Just, University of Iowa IIHR Hydroscience & Engineering

Organizational

- Bailey provided an update on procurement of archaeological services. The ERWMA is in the process of developing a contract with the Office of the State Archaeologist for services.
- o ERWMA Board Officers Election (Discussion/Action)

The results of the annual election of ERWMA Executive Committee members are as follows:

- M/S by Anderson/ Phillips to re-elect Mark Kennett (At Large Poweshiek SWCD) to a 2-year term. Motion passed.
- M/S by Phillips/Kennett to re-elect Ryan Schlabaugh (Chair City of Kalona) to a 2-year term. Motion passed.
- M/S by Phillips/Anderson to elect Kasey Hutchinson (At Large Johnson County) to a 2-year term. Motion passed.
- M/S by Phillips/Kennett to elect Mick Berg (at Large Keokuk County) to a 2-year term.
 Motion passed.

Updated list of ERWMA Officers:

First	Last	Title	Organization	Term Exp
Mark	Kennett	At Large	Poweshiek Co SWCD	November 2020
Ryan	Schlabaugh	Chair	City of Kalona	November 2020
Abe	Miller	Vice-Chair	Washington County	November 2019
Mike	Phillips	At Large	Poweshiek County SWCD	November 2019
Jan	Anderson	At Large	City of Grinnell	November 2019
Kasey	Hutchinson	At Large	Johnson County	November 2020
Mick	Berg	At Large	Keokuk County	November 2020
Jody	Bailey	Secretary	English River WMA	NA
Steve	Berger	Ex-officio		NA

Announcements/Events

- Contractor Informational Meeting *rescheduled*
 - o Lake Iowa Nature Center, December 5th at 10:00 AM

o 2019 Board Meetings

February 21, 2019, 6:30 PM May 16, 2019, 7:30 PM *note late start time* August 15, 2019, 6:30 PM

•	Adjournment					
	M/S to adjourn the meeting at 7:56 by Anderson/Phillips. Motion passed.					
	Chairperson	Date				

Notes taken by J. Bailey