The English River Watershed established as a 28E agreement among counties, cities, and soil and water conservation districts. The English River Watershed consists of 16 entities.











The English River watershed, located in southeastern Iowa, is 409,236 acres (approximately 639 square miles) in area. It is home to approximately 21,700 people, the majority of whom live in one of several small communities in the watershed. The watershed covers portions of Poweshiek, Iowa, Johnson, Washington, and Keokuk Counties; and portions, or all, of the following communities: Grinnell, Guernsey, Montezuma, Barnes City, Deep River, Gibson, Millersburg, Keswick, Webster, Kinross, North English, Parnell, Wellman, Kalona, and Riverside.











City of Barnes City

City of Grinnell

City of Kalona

City of Keswick

City of Riverside

City of Wellman


Soil & Water Conservation Districts

Iowa County SWCD

Johnson County SWCD

Keokuk County SWCD

Poweshiek County SWCD

Washington County SWCD



County of Iowa

County of Johnson

County of Keokuk

County of Poweshiek

County of Washington




Board of Directors


Jan Anderson At Large City of Grinnell
Jody Bailey Secretary Project Coordinator
Gary Bates Representative Keokuk County SWCD
Michael Berg Representative Keokuk County
Steve  Berger Ex-officio Iowa Farm Bureau Federation
Josh Busard Representative Johnson County
Bob  Faber Alternate Iowa County SWCD
Lynn Fisher Alternate Keokuk County
Brandee Harper Alternate City of Keswick
Steve  Johnston Representative Iowa County SWCD
Mark Kennett At Large Poweshiek Co SWCD
Mollie Loving Representative City of Barnes City
Aaron  Meador Alternate Washington County SWCD
Abe Miller Vice-Chair Washington County
Ryan  Miller Representative City of Wellman
Doris Park At Large Washington County SWCD
Mike Phillips At Large Poweshiek County SWCD
Ed Ruppenkamp Alternate Johnson County SWCD
Ryan  Schlabaugh Chair City of Kalona
Bob  Schneider Representative City of Riverside
Karen Sieren Representative City of Keswick
Larry Wilson Representative Poweshiek County   
 Vacant   At Large  



WMA Legal Framework


Organizational Bylaws

Articles of Agreement