Cost Share


Program Background

The English River watershed is grateful for the opportunity to be part of a new statewide watershed initiative, the Iowa Watershed Approach (IWA), which is bringing numerous organizations and institutions together to achieve the following goals:

  1. Reduce flood risks
  2. Improve water quality
  3. Increase disaster resiliency
  4. Engaging stakeholders
  5. Improving quality of life and health
  6. Develop a program that can be replicated across the Midwest and the U.S.

Learn more about the Iowa Watershed approach here.


Eligible Conservation Practices

We are offering 75% cost share for best management practices on properties in select areas of Poweshiek and Iowa Counties. If your land is in one of these priority areas, you may be eligible for the cost share for the following:

  • Oxbow Restoration
  • Floodplain Restoration
  • Small, Medium, & Large Farm Ponds
  • Sediment Detention Basin
  • Storm Water Detention Basin
  • Terrace
  • Wetland
  • Buffer Strips
  • Perennial Cover/Grass
  • Prairie STRIPS

Eligible Areas for Cost Share Program

The green areas on the map below represent the eligible areas for cost share. The orange areas in Iowa County on the map represent potential future eligible areas for cost share. Please call (319) 656-2310, or email

  Click to open Legend to toggle layers on/off.        Click to open map in full-size window.


How to Apply

To apply for cost share, download the form below and mail it to English River Watershed, P.O. Box 1213, Kalona, IA 52247. Or, call (319) 656-2310 to talk to watershed staff and request an application packet be mailed to you.


Application Materials

Application for Cost Share Assistance



Iowa Watershed Approach Project partners include: 

Iowa Economic Development Authority, Iowa Homeland Security & Emergency Management, University of Iowa, Iowa Flood Center, Iowa State University, University of Northern Iowa, Iowa Department of Agriculture & Land Stewardship, Iowa Department of Natural Resources, National Resources Conservation Service, County Soil & Water Conservation Districts, The Nature Conservancy, Iowa Natural Heritage Foundation, Iowa Soybean Association, Iowa Corn Growers Association, Iowa Farm Bureau, Iowa Agricultural Water Alliance, Resource Conservation & Development, Iowa Department of Transportation, Iowa Association of Counties, and the Silver Jackets Flood Risk Management Team.